To Recognize Bugs 
Body shape
A typical bug shows an oval, more or less flattened shape (Pentatomidae, Cimicidae for example). Depending on the mode of life there exist numerous variations with a bewildering range of shapes and colours from a nearly rounded body (Plataspidae) to mosquito-like shape (Empicoris).
typical:Pentatoma
spherical:Coptosoma
mosquito-like: Empicoris
Wings
Wings can be fully developed (macropterous), reduced (brachypterous) or totally missing (apterous). The forewings are divided in a tough (sclerotisized) front part and a membranous hind part. That gives rise to the name Heteroptera. Hindwings are membranous and lie folded beneath the forewings when in rest. During flight, fore and hindwings are coupled together.
flying: Carpocoris
apterous:Cimex
brachypterous:Dimorphopterus
Scutellum
A triangular plate, the scutellum, lies between the bases of the forewings. It is often enlarged and in extreme cases it covers the whole abdomen (Scutelleridae, Plataspidae for example). In contrast, the scutellum of beetles is small, often very small.
normal scutellum
extreme scutellum form
typical beetle scutellum
Stinging and sucking
All bugs have a specialised rostrum (beak), which arises from the front of the head and which lies directed backwards under the body when not in use. With the rostrum they can pierce plants and animal prey, inject digestive secretions and suck the plant sap or the liquid compounds of its prey.
stinging rostrum
resting rostrum
mouthparts of a beetle
The stink glands of bugs
Virtually all bug species have stink glands, which produce a defensive secretions which consists of long-chain alcohols and aldehydes. It is an effective repellent against predators, smelling bad for people. It is smeared with the legs on enemies or directly sprayed out of the openings, which lie at each side of the metasternum in the adults and on the back of the abdomen in the nymphs.
Giants and dwarfs
Body length in bugs varies from about 1 mm (or less) in some terrestrial families (Dipsocoridae for example) up to 60 mm (or more) in the rapacious aquatic forms (Nepidae, Belostomatidae).
XX giant water bugs (Belostomatidae) from Japan and Malaysia.

Wanzen erkennen 
X
X
Körpergestalt und Extreme
Die typische Wanze hat eine ovale,  mehr oder weniger abgeplattete Körpergestalt (z. B. Palomena, Pentatoma). In Abhängigkeit von der Lebensweise gibt es davon zahlreiche Abwandlungen von gedrungen kugelförmig (Coptosoma) bis zart mückenartig (Empicoris). Die Fühler sind bei den Pentatomorpha fünfgliedrig, bei den anderen Landwanzen viergliedrig.
 
typisch: Pentatoma
kugelig: Coptosoma
bizarr: Empicoris
X
Flügelbau und Flugfähigkeit
Die Vorderflügel sind in einen sklerotisierten vorderen und einen hinteren membranösen Teil gegliedert. Hieraus leitet sich der Name der Ordnung Heteroptera ab, was soviel bedeutet, wie "verschiedenflügelig". Im Flug werden Vorder- und Hinterflügel ineinander verhakt. Die Flügel können reduziert (brachypter) sein oder ganz fehlen (Cimex).
 
Carpocoris im Flug
flügellos: Cimex
brachypter: Dimorphopterus
X
Auffällig: Das Schildchen oder Scutellum
Zwischen der Basis der Vorderflügel befindet sich ein dreieckiges Schildchen, das Scutellum, das bei vielen Arten recht groß und auffällig gebaut ist.  Das Scutellum kann sogar den ganzen Hinterleib bedecken, wie bei den Arten der Familie Scutelleridae. Bei den Käfern, mit denen Wanzen gerne verwechselt werden, ist das Schildchen fast immer klein bis sehr klein.
 
ein Wanzenscutellum
Extrem Scutelleridae
typisches Käferscutellum
X
Wanzen stechen und saugen
Alle Wanzen verfügen über einen Stechrüssel mit einer Rüsselscheide, Stechborsten und einem Saugkanal. Der Rüssel wird in Ruhe unter dem Körper eingeklappt. Mit dem Rüssel können Pflanzensäfte ein- oder Beutetiere ausgesaugt werden. Käfer besitzen beißende Mundwerkzeuge
 
Stechrüssel im Einsatz
Rüssel in Ruhestellung
Mundwerkzeuge beim Käfer
c
Wanzen stinken
Wanzen haben ein Wehrsekret, das in Drüsen der Mittelbrust gebildet wird. Die Drüsenöffnungen liegen, von oben nicht sichtbar, auf der Thoraxunterseite, bei Larven liegen die Drüsen und die Drüsenöffnungen auf der Abdomenoberseite. Das Sekret enthält längerkettige Kohlenwasserstoffe und Aldehyde. Es wird mit den Beinen verschmiert oder gezielt auf Angreifer gespritzt und stellt ein wirksames Repellent gegen Freßfeinde dar, das auch vielfach den für den Menschen so unangenehmen Wanzengeruch bewirkt.
X
Riesen und Zwerge
Die Körpergröße variiert von ein bis zwei Millimetern bei einigen landlebenden Formen wie zum Beispiel den winzigen Dipsocoriden bis zu sechs Zentimetern bei den räuberischen Riesenwasserwanzen aus der Familie Belostomatidae.
 
XX Riesenwasserwanzen aus 
der Familie Belostomatidae
aus Japan und Malaysia.
X
letztes Update: 20.10.2004